National Sports Awards 2016 – At A Glance

National Sports Awards – 2016

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. National Sports Awards 2016 are given to the following sportspersons/ coaches/organizations :

(1) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is India’s highest sporting award given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years.
S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1. Ms. P.V. Sindhu Badminton
2. Ms. Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
3. Shri Jitu Rai Shooting
4. Ms. Sakshi Malik Wrestling

(2) Dronacharya Awards 2016

Dronacharya Award is bestowed upon coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events.
S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1. Shri Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
2. Shri Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
3. Shri Raj Kumar Sharma Cricket
4. Shri Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
5. Shri S. Pradeep Kumar Swimming (Lifetime)
6. Shri Mahabir Singh Wrestling (Lifetime)

(3) Arjuna Awards 2016

Arjuna Award is India’s second highest sporting award bestowed upon sportsperson for consistently outstanding performance for four years.
S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1. Shri Rajat Chauhan Archery
2. Ms. Lalita Babar Athletics
3. Shri Sourav Kothari Billiards & Snooker
4. Shri Shiva Thapa Boxing
5. Shri Ajinkya Rahane Cricket
6. Shri Subrata Paul Football
7. Ms. Rani Hockey
8. Shri Raghunath V.R. Hockey
9. Shri Gurpreet Singh Shooting
10. Ms. Apurvi Chandela Shooting
11. Shri Soumyajit Ghosh Table Tennis
12. Ms. Vinesh Wrestling
13. Shri Amit Kumar Wrestling
14. Shri Sandeep Singh Mann Para-Athletics
15. Shri Virender Singh Wrestling (Deaf)

(4) Dhyan Chand Award 2015

Dhyan Chand Award is bestowed upon sportspersons for life time contribution to sports development.
S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1. Ms. Satti Geetha Athletics
2. Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung Hockey
3. Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke Rowing

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. 

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakhArjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.  

1 2

Indian Sports – Mcq
Indian Sports – Notes
Indian Sports – IQ

General Knowledge Books

Be a Part of the New & Next

MCQs fb  MCQs G+

Share the Knowledge


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here